WE LOVE FASHION.
AND WE LOVE OUR PLANET.

Sustainability at ABOUT YOU

Since our founding, we have always encouraged people to express their personalities through fashion, as we believe it promotes essential values for our society such as individuality, self-awareness and tolerance. But fashion is also much more than this, as much as it lives from the people, it also lives from the resources of our planet.

As a fast-growing online fashion platform, we at ABOUT YOU want to take responsibility for our actions and our environment. We are working on making this awareness the baseline for all our business decisions while enabling our customers to make sustainable buying choices that are fun and respectful to our earth and its resources.

This is a complex process, in which we are learning something new every day and we aim to always share our sustainability measures transparently. We are far from being perfect but we believe every step in the right direction can make a positive impact on our world.

OUR FOOTPRINT

We want to design every step of our supply chain to be as eco-friendly as possible.

Our Approach

We continuously measure our footprint and gradually improve our analysis. Based on gained insights, we avoid and reduce our footprint, coordinate improvements with our partners, and compensate for all CO₂ emissions that cannot be reduced directly.

Our progress in 2020

  • Using eco-friendlier boxes (less material, higher recycling share, fewer prints) and poly mailers (min. 80% recycling share, fewer prints)
  • Calculating our entire CO₂-emissions* together with ClimatePartner. We currently work with our partners to further reduce and avoid CO₂-emissions
  • Achieving CO₂-neutrality by fully compensating our entire CO₂-emissions* through, tangible, certified climate protection programs, that additionally add value to the UN Sustainable Development Goals
  • *ABOUT YOU offices, stores, business travel, employee commutes, any means of transportation incl. delivery, returns & partners modells, warehousing, call center, packaging, Delivery own brands and paper based advertising material (enclosure ads, mailings, out of home ads). Products are currently not part of this calculation.

SUSTAINABLE FASHION

We want to maximize the share of sustainable products on our platform and shift our focus on ecological and fairly produced fashion in the long term.

Our Approach

We establish transparent criteria, on the basis of which we label products in our shop as sustainable fashion and make such products more visible to enable our customers to make conscious purchase choices. Our buying department puts a bigger focus on sustainable products and brands that positively amplify our product portfolio.

Our progress in 2020

  • Higher transparency through new shop features that label sustainable products and show all criteria and certificates
  • Increasing the amount of sustainable brands and products in our portfolio
  • Strengthening our sustainability criteria for used materials, ways of processing and working conditions

CIRCULARITY

We want to establish a circular lifecycle for garments and maximize the use of recycled resources by offering return systems and utilizing used garments in the long run

Our Approach

We integrate second hand partners on our platform and offer our customers one of the largest assortments of quality checked second hand items with our launch of the category “Second Love”.

Our progress in 2020

  • Integration & launch of the product category “Second Love” for quality checked second hand items in the ABOUT YOU Shop that can be purchased with our known customer benefits like free shipping and returns
  • Icon - AboutYOU Vintage Warderobe
    Continuation of the ABOUT YOU Vintage Wardrobe - A space where Festival & Event visitors can rent second hand fashion for free and learn more about used garments and the concept of circularity

WE CARE ABOUT YOUR OPINION

Everyday we learn something new how we can take responsibility for our society and our planet for achieving step by step our goals towards a more sustainable business model. In this journey, your opinion matters to us!

Do you have open questions, feedback or ideas for us regarding responsibility? Please feel free to contact us via responsibility@aboutyou.com and we will come back to you! Thanks ♥︎

WE LOVE FASHION. AND WE CARE FOR OUR PLANET.

Nachhaltigkeit bei ABOUT YOU

Seit unserer Gründung bestärken wir Menschen darin, ihre Persönlichkeit durch Kleidung auszudrücken, denn Individualität, Selbstbewusstsein und Toleranz sind wichtige Werte, die durch Mode in die Gesellschaft getragen werden. Doch Mode ist viel mehr als das. Genauso wie sie von den Menschen lebt, lebt sie auch von den Ressourcen unserer Erde.

Als schnell wachsende Online Fashion Plattform wollen wir bei ABOUT YOU daher Verantwortung für unser Handeln und unsere Erde übernehmen. Wir arbeiten daran, dieses Bewusstsein zum Maßstab unser unternehmerischen Entscheidungen zu machen und dabei unseren Kundinnen und Kunden nachhaltige Kaufentscheidungen zu ermöglichen, die Spaß machen und die Ressourcen der Natur respektieren.

Dies ist ein komplexer Prozess, bei dem wir täglich Neues lernen und längst nicht alles perfekt machen. Wir glauben dennoch, dass jeder Schritt in die richtige Richtung einen positiven Effekt auf unsere Welt haben kann und möchten hier unsere nachhaltigen Aktivitäten transparent aufzeigen.

OUR FOOTPRINT

Wir wollen jeden einzelnen Schritt unserer Wertschöpfungskette
so umweltfreundlich wie möglich gestalten.

Unser Vorgehen

Wir messen kontinuierlich unseren Fußabdruck und verbessern sukzessive unsere Analyse. Anhand der gewonnen Erkenntnisse vermeiden und reduzieren wir diesen gezielt, stimmen uns mit unseren Partnern ab und gleichen alle CO₂ Belastungen aus, die sich noch nicht direkt reduzieren lassen.

Unsere Fortschritte in 2020

  • Nutzung umweltfreundlicher Kartons (weniger Material, höherer Recyclinganteil, weniger Druck) und Versandtüten (min. 80% Recyclinganteil, weniger Farbe)
  • Ermittlung unserer gesamten CO₂-Emissionen* gemeinsam mit ClimatePartner. Wir arbeiten derzeit mit unseren Partnern an der Reduzierung und Vermeidung unserer CO₂-Emissionen
  • Erreichung CO₂-Neutralität durch vollständige Kompensation unserer gesamten CO₂-Emissionen* mit zweckgebundenen, hochwertig zertifiziertenKlimaschutzprojekten, die zusätzlich auf die UN Sustainable Development Goals einzahlen
  • *ABOUT YOU Offices, Stores, Dienstreisen, Anfahrt der MitarbeiterInnen, alle Transporte inkl. Lieferungen, Retouren & Partnermodell, Warehousing, Call Center, Verpackungen, Anlieferung Eigenmarken und Papierwerbemittel (Beileger, Mailings, Out of Home Ads). Produkte sind derzeit ausgenommen.

SUSTAINABLE FASHION

Wir wollen den Anteil nachhaltiger Produkte auf unserer Plattform maximieren und unseren Fokus langfristig auf ökologisch und fair hergestellte Mode setzen.

Unser Vorgehen

Wir etablieren transparente Kriterien, anhand derer wir Produkte im Shop als nachhaltige Mode kennzeichnen und machen diese sichtbarer, um unseren Kundinnen und Kunden bewusste Kaufentscheidungen zu vereinfachen. Im Einkauf setzen wir einen größeren Fokus auf nachhaltige Produkte und Marken, die unser Produktportfolio positiv ergänzen.

Unsere Fortschritte in 2020

  • Höhere Produkttransparenz durch neue Shop-Features zur Kennzeichnung von nachhaltigen Artikeln und eine Darlegung aller Kriterien und Zertifikate
  • Steigerung der Anzahl von nachhaltigen Marken und Produkten in unserem Sortiment
  • Stärkung der Nachhaltigkeitskriterien für verwendete Materialien, Verarbeitungsweisen und Arbeitsbedingungen

CIRCULARITY

Wir wollen langfristig einen Textilkreislauf etablieren und durch Rückgabesysteme und die Wiederverwendung bereits getragener Kleidung die Nutzung recycelbarer Ressourcen maximieren.

Unser Vorgehen

Wir integrieren Secondhand-Partner auf unserer Plattform und bieten unseren Kundinnen und Kunden mit der neuen “Second Love” Kategorie eines der größten Sortimente für geprüfte Secondhand-Produkte.

Unsere Fortschritte in 2020

  • Integration der Produktkategorie "Second Love" für qualitätsgeprüfte Secondhand-Mode im ABOUT YOU Shop mit unseren bekannten Kundenvorteilen wie kostenlosem Versand und Rückversand
  • Icon - AboutYOU Vintage Warderobe
    Fortsetzung der ABOUT YOU Vintage Wardrobe, um Festival & Event Besuchern durch den kostenlosen Verleih von Secondhand-Kleidung für gebrauchte Mode zu begeistern und Kreislaufsysteme näherzubringen

WE CARE ABOUT YOUR OPINION.

Wir lernen täglich neu dazu, wie wir Verantwortung für unsere Gesellschaft und unsere Erde übernehmen können, damit wir Schritt für Schritt unsere Ziele für ein nachhaltigeres Geschäftsmodell erreichen können. Deine Meinung ist uns dabei wichtig!

Du hast offene Fragen, Feedback oder Ideen für uns zum Thema Verantwortung? Dann schreib uns eine E-Mail an responsibility@aboutyou.com und wir melden uns bei Dir zurück! Danke ♥︎